Cecil Haney

Admiral Cecil D. Haney, USN

Commander, United States Strategic Command (USSTRATCOM)

Admiral Cecil D. Haney is Commander of U.S. Strategic Command (USSTRATCOM), one of nine Unified Commands under the Department of Defense. USSTRATCOM is responsible for the global command and control of U.S. strategic forces to meet decisive national security objectives, providing a broad range of strategic capabilities and options for the President and Secretary of Defense.

Before taking Command at USSTRATCOM in November 2013, Admiral Haney was Commander, U.S. Pacific Fleet from January 2012 to October 2013. He served as Deputy Commander, USSTRATCOM, from November 2010 to December 2011. Admiral Haney commanded Submarine Group 2 from October 2006 to March 2008, and Submarine Squadron 1 from June 2002 to July 2004.

He commanded the submarine USS Honolulu (SSN 718). His other at-sea assignments include Submarine Squadron 8, USS Asheville(SSN 758), USS Hyman G. Rickover (SSN 709), USS Frank Cable (AS 40), and USS John C. Calhoun (SSBN 630).

Admiral Haney's shore duty tours include Director, Naval Warfare Integration Group (N00X); Director, Submarine Warfare Division (N87); Deputy Chief of Staff of Plans, Policies and Requirements, U.S. Pacific Fleet (N5N8); congressional appropriations liaison officer for the Office of the Secretary of Defense (Comptroller); and administrative assistant for enlisted affairs at Naval Reactors.

Admiral Haney holds Master's degrees in National Security Strategy from the National Defense University and in Engineering Acoustics and System Technology from the Naval Post Graduate School. He is a native of Washington, D.C. and a 1978 graduate of the U.S. Naval Academy.

Admiral Haney's decorations include the Navy Distinguished Service Medal (two awards), Defense Superior Service Medal (two awards), Legion of Merit (four awards), Navy Commendation Medal (three awards), Navy Achievement Medal (two awards), and various campaign and unit awards. In addition, he was the 1998 Vice Admiral James Bond Stockdale Leadership Award recipient.

Return to the Speakers page